My second story is out.  Animal Magnetism is a M/M Romance anthology by Dreamspinner press, and my story is called “New Tides.”  The theme, as the title suggests, is animals as the catalyst to bring the men together.  The collection is out in paperback or as an e-book.  I got my copy in the mail today and I’m really excited to read the other stories.

“New Tides” is set at an aquarium, because I wanted to do somethings a little different. I’d love to hear what you think of it!

Some story notes, with possible spoilers, after the jump.

I wanted to be sure I captured the feel of the ins and outs of daily life at an aquarium, so I did some research.  The Monterey Bay Aquarium in California has some “Day in the Life” podcasts from various aquarium staff along with their other media.  If you are curious about behind the scenes at an aquarium, check it out.

I wanted to be sure Steve had the correct job description, so I looked at jobs in aquariums as well.

Finally, if you’re fascinated by octopuses the way I am, or want to read more, the  wonderful article “Deep Intellect” by science and nature writer Sy Montgomery was my inspiration for this story.

